Cards to Play on Offense and Defense, Including Restricted
Choice
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Many of the examples shown here were used in previous lectures and some are basic
and widely known to experienced players. On the other hand, very few players get all of
them right, all of the time - so there is likely something helpful for both new and
seasoned players.

The cards you choose to play as declarer should give up as little information to the
defense as possible and also maximize your chances of making the most tricks.

The cards you play as a defender should give as much information as you can to
partner while not giving declarer chances to make more tricks than she might have done
without your lead or play.

Basic Card Play (Defense)

When you play to a trick with one of touching honors — play the lower one. With KQx
play the Q. With QJx play the J, etc. That way, partner knows when you play the higher
of two touching missing honors you do not have the lower.

When you lead an honor, lead the top of touching honors — so that the lead of the Q
denies the K, etc. This is consistent with the widely used convention of leading A from
AK. The exception is later in the hand when, with AK you lead the K. Another exception
is at trick one at NT where a useful conventional lead is the Q from KQ109 asking
partner to play the J if she has it.

Basic Card Play (Declarer)

When you win a trick with one of touching honors, win with the higher one concealing
the fact that you have the lower one. With, say, KQx in a suit and a low one led at NT



with third hand playing the J — win with the K and keep the opening leader wondering
who has the Q. Note that winning with the Q gives away that you also have the K.

A basic declarer card play choice is the order used to draw trumps when you are
missing 4 or 5 to the J. Say the holding is

AK73

Q1062

Do not start by playing to the Q or by playing the A and then the Q. Play the A and then
the K so you can pick up 4 to the J if East shows out on the play of the K. If you have
AK103 opposite Q762, play the A and then the Q to guard against West holding 4 to the
J. If you have a 9 card fit, play a winner that allows you to pick up a 4-0 split, if possible.
In general, play your trump honors so that you can handle a bad split. Note that when
you can pick up 4 to the J held by either defender, then you have a choice of cashing
orders and you should decide which to use based on which defender you think might
have more trumps.

Finally, assume you have all the top trumps and can play winners from either hand.
Then, decide where you want to end up (hand or dummy) and play accordingly.

Another basic declarer play is the hold-up play at NT. But before holding up, study the
card spots carefully. Say you have 10xx in dummy and AJ in hand (or Jx in dummy and
A10x in hand). Assume either opening leader plays the K or a low card is led and third
hand plays the K or Q. Too many times, declarer ignores the spots and holds up. But
winning the A guarantees a second stopper that is lost when you hold up. Here’s a
similar example:

9864
A3
QJ1098
K53
KQ752 J3
J96 Q10542
K74 32
92 J1087
A10
K87
AB5
AQ64



South opens 1INT and soon is playing 3NT with low spade led to the J. If declarer holds
up the A, a second spade will force the A to be played. Declarer goes to dummy and
leads the QD and finesses and is quickly down 1. But if declarer wins the A at the first
trick, the 9S is a stopper and declarer makes 4NT.

Another common declarer situation is what to lead holding J9xx opposite AQ10x. Lead
the 9 and you will be able to capture Kxxx onsides without wasting an entry back to
your hand, If you lead the J, the next lead will leave you in the dummy having to get
back to your hand in another suit to finish the finessing.

On this topic of what to lead when finessing: say you hold QJ10xx opposite Axx (or
something similar). What do you lead when finessing the K? The answer is simple: if
you want a cover by the K then make it easier for the defender by leading the Q. Lead
the 10 if you'd prefer a non-cover.

Advanced Card Play (Defense)

There are many common card combinations guidelines such as “cover an honor with an
honor” or “second hand low, third hand high” can be misleading or even costly. We look
now at several examples where the choice which card to play might not be obvious and
a misplay might cost 1 or more tricks.

QJ9(x) in dummy and you hold Kx(x). Declarer leads the Q — do you cover? Here’s an
example showing all 4 hands. If you cover the Q declarer will win and finesse partner’'s
10 with dummy’s 9 and make all 4 tricks. If you duck, there is no way declarer can avoid
a loser (cover the J if led next setting up partner’s 10).

QJ93
1042 K75
A86
But what if the layout is
QJ93
1042 K7
A865



do you still duck the Q? The answer is yes because that gives declarer a guess whether
to play the J next (correct if partner has 10x and you have Kxx) or a low one next
(correct if partner has 10xx).

When do you cover? If you have K10 you must cover and hope declarer finesses the 9
next, losing to your 10. If you have K10x you will get one trick whether you cover the Q
or not — so cover if you want declarer to be in her hand and not in dummy but duck
otherwise.

What if the layout is
Q95
1042 K73
AJ86
Now you must cover the Q or declarer takes all the tricks.
J105

K82 Q93
A764

When the J is led, do not cover with the Q and your side gets two tricks. Cover and you
only get 1 trick. But with one honor in dummy

J65

K92 Q83
A1074
Cover when the J is led and your side gets two tricks. Duck and you only get one.

Remember: One Honor in Dummy Led — COVER! A Sequence of Honors — Usually
DUCK!

Here’s an advanced third hand defensive play often missed. The simplest case is in a
suit contract and partner leads low (promising an honor). You see the following in the
suit in dummy:

A109
3 led J74

Declarer plays the 9 — do you play the J? Here the answer is 100% clear — you forget
third hand high and DUCK! Partner is leading from the K or the Q (not the KQ in a suit
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contract!). If partner is leading from the Q, declarer will make all 3 tricks no matter what
you play. If partner has the K, playing the J gives declarer a finesse for all three tricks.
Duck and declarer will not get three tricks in the suit unless your side leads it again.

What if the contract is NT? The only holding where it is correct to play the J is if partner
is leading low from the KQ. You have to judge from the auction whether this is likely or
not and play accordingly. Most of the time, ducking will still be the best play at
matchpoints.

Advanced Card Play (Declarer)

Now let’s look at some declarer situations where playing the right card from the right
hand can make a difference. Look at

J1052
K8 Q93
A764

How can you play this trump suit to lose only 1 trick? Only one way works: lead low from
the A towards the J1052. If West rises with the K, later finesse East’s Q by leading the
J from dummy. If West does not rise K, play the J and lose to East’s Q but next drop
West'’s stiff K. Play the same way if West has Qx instead of Kx.

Now change which defender has the three-card suit to an honor.

J1052
K83 Q9

A764

You need to lead the J from dummy to win 3 out of 4 tricks. If covered, win A and lead
towards the 10 — if ducked let ride and next drop the stiff Q.

What about

J752
K83 Q9

A1064

Here you lead low to the 10 and then drop the stiff Q. But if East holds three to an honor



J752
K8 Q93

A1064

you can lead low towards the J and after losing the K, finesse the Q (or if the K does
not rise, drop it after losing to the Q). This holding is special in that you can also lead
the J from dummy and make 3 out of 4 tricks.

What should you remember when missing 5 cards that include the K and Q and 9?
Assume the 5 missing cards split 3 =2 with an honor in each hand. Guess the
opponent you think most likely to have a doubleton honor and lead from the hand
that plays before that opponent plays. If the hand you lead from has both the J
and the 10, lead one of them.

What About Choosing Whether to Finesse or Play for the Drop?

With no other significant information

1. With 11 cards missing the K, play for the drop
2. With 10 cards missing the K, finesse
3. With 9 cards missing the Q, play for the drop
4. With 8 cards missing the Q, finesse
5. With 7 cards missing the J, play for the drop (instead of finessing the 10).

What is significant information? If an opponent has shown a pre-empt length suit or 2
long suits, that is enough to change the odds which normally only slightly favor the drop
in 1, 3 & 5. You should then finesse the opponent’s partner.

Another rule to memorize and follow (sometimes referred to as the Principle of
Restricted Choice) is:

When an opponent holds either one or both of 2 equally important cards and
plays one of them on the previous trick (in a situation where he cannot be false-
carding holding additional small cards), then take the finesse for the remaining
Important card.

Examples:
QJ7532 KJ753 KJ753 AKQ10 AQ104
1) 2) 3) 4) or
A10986 A86 A765 752 K32



In 1) we lead the Q and play the ace if East follows low. In 2) we play the A and finesse
the J. In 3) we play for the Q to drop and in 4) the best play for all the tricks is to play
the A, K and then the Q instead of finessing the 10.

Note that in 3) and 4) at the point where you have to decide whether to finesse or play
for the drop there is one card left outstanding after West plays and you can (correctly)
reason that East has one more un-played card in her hand to hold that missing honor

and therefore playing for the drop is the best chance play.

K10953

Now look at 5) A842 and assume you play the A and East plays either the J or
the Q.

Does this change your mind after you lead towards the K1095 and West plays the 67 It
looks a lot like 3) and, again, East has more room left to hold the missing honor. But
remember the Restricted Choice Rule. East either holds both missing honors or a
singleton and false-carding is not possible — so follow Restricted Choice and finesse
West for the missing honor.

Note that following The Principle Of Restricted Choice significantly improves
your chance of success by as much as a factor of 2x (but does not guarantee it
will work on any given hand).

Two examples of Restricted Choice working occurred during the 3/19/2022
BCA Unit Open game. On Board 20, Declarer (West) with A9863 opposite
K1075 in trumps played the K from dummy and saw South play the 2 and
North the J. RC said finesse the Q but declarer played for the drop and lost
matchpoints he could have gained. On Board 23, Declarer with AK432
opposite 10965 in trumps, played the A and saw left hand opponent drop the
Q. Declarer followed RC and went to dummy and successfully finessed the J
for a good matchpoint result.

QuUIZ

1. Partner leads the 10 of a side suit and dummy has the QJ8. You have K32. What do
you play when declarer plays the J?

2. In a suit contract partner leads a low card in an unbid side suit and dummy shows up
with A104. You have J53. What do you play after dummy follows with the 4?

3. Partner leads an unbid suit in a trump contract and dummy lays down the Q104. You
hold K53 — what do you play after declarer plays the 4?
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4. After an auction showing declarer and dummy both have 4 trumps you, sitting East
holding J963 of trump, see a dummy trump holding of AQ104. Declarer leads the 2 —
what card do you play?

AQ104
J963 5
K872

You have AK9xxx opposite Qx and lead low towards the Q and see the 10 fall before
you play the Q.. Do you next finesse with the 9? What if you have A109xxxx opposite
Kx and see the J played as you lead the to the K ?

ANSWERS

1. Partner is probably leading from something like 109x(xx). If you cover declarer has an
easy finesse for 3 tricks. If you don’t cover until the second honor is led, you hold
declarer to 2 tricks.

2. If partner is leading away from the Q, declarer will always have 3 tricks no matter
what you play. Partner is almost certainly not leading low from the KQ against a suit
contract so playing your J and winning is not an option. If partner is leading from the K
and you play the J, declarer wins the Q and has an easy finesse for partner's K and
wins 3 tricks. If, however, you play the 5 or 3, declarer cannot win 3 tricks unless you or
your partner later lead the suit.

3. Assume partner is not leading away from an A against a suit contract. If partner does
not have the J declarer has complete control of the suit. If partner does have the J and
you play the K, partner can be finessed and declarer will win all 3 tricks. If, however,
you play low, declarer cannot make 3 tricks unless your side leads it.

4. AQ104
J963 5
K872

Declarer starts by leading to the A. If you play the 3, declarer will win the A and reflect
that if there is a bad split she can pick up the J96 in your hand but not in East’s hand —
so she will play to the K and later finesse away your J. You will not get a trump trick and
declarer has no choice other than to play it that way. But what happens if you play the 9
at trick 1?7 Now declarer can finesse either East or West to pick up a bad trump split —
but has a choice to make as to whether to play the Q as the second trump play or the K.
No one could blame declarer for thinking West is more likely to be short after seeing the
9 fall. You will probably end up with a good J of trump.



5. The false card play of the 9 gives declarer a choice and a chance to go wrong!

6. RC does not apply since the defender could (should) false card with J10x, so play
for the drop. RC applies in the 9 card example, so finesse

Bonus Example: The Monty Hall Dilemma

Restricted Choice can be used to solve a famous and controversial puzzle
that first appeared in Marilyn Vos Savant’s Parade Magazine column in
1990.
Based on the long running (nearly 27 years) Let's Make a Deal TV show hosted by
Monty Hall

Monty gives a contestant a choice of 3 doors

Behind one door is an expensive car and behind the other 2 are goats

The contestant is asked to choose a door

Say he chooses door # 2

Monty, who knows what is behind each door then opens door number 3, exposing
a goat, and asks the contestant if he wants to switch from door 2 to door 1

Monty will always open a door with a goat behind it so that’s not new news, is it?
Should the contestant switch doors or hold to his original choice?

1 2

To Switch or not to Switch — that is the Question

Ms. Savant, said “Yes switch doors— you improve your chances of getting the
car by a factor of 2 to 1.”

— Because of the estimated 10,000 letters she received in response, many
strongly disputing her answer, she published a second article on the subject.
Of the disagreeing letters, more than 1000 were from Phd’s and
mathematicians or statisticians.

Due to the fervor created by Ms. Savant’s two columns, the
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New York Times published a large front page article in a
1991 Sunday issue which declared

“Her answer... has been debated in the halls of the C.I.A. and the
barracks of fighter pilots in the Persian Gulf. It has been analyzed by
mathematicians at M..T. and computer programmers at Los Alamos
National Laboratory in New Mexico. It has been tested in classes
ranging from second grade to graduate level at more than 1,000
schools across the country.”

The Monty Hall dilemma was shown on television and in film

The CBS drama series NUMB3RS featured the Monty Hall Problem in the final
episode of its 2004-2005 season.

The 2008 movie 21 opens with an M.I.T. math professor (played by Kevin
Spacey) using the Monty Hall Problem to explain mathematical theories to his
students.

The London FINANCIAL TIMES published a column about the Monty Hall Problem
on August 16, 2005, declaring positively that "the answer is, indeed, yes: you
should change."

However, the columnist, John Kay, noted that "Paul Erdos, the great
mathematician, reputedly died still musing on the Monty Hall problem."

The column resulted in several letters published on the "Leaders and Letters"
page of the FINANCIAL TIMES on August 18 and 22 - and two follow-up
columns by Mr. Kay on August 23

The false but intuitive appealing solution goes like this:

Monty has not given you any new information since there will always be a door
with a goat behind it for him to open. So, you might as well stick with your
original door. Or, many people reason, now there are two doors left — and one
of them has the car behind it. So, your chances are 50-50 with either of these
doors and you might as well stick with the original door.

The correct solution is: Your chances originally are 1/3 for the door you picked
and that does not change. Whenever the car is behind one of the other two doors
(a 2/3 chance), Monty has a “restricted choice” and will always pick the door with
the goat. The other door will have the car behind it 2/3 of the time.

— So you double your chances by switching.

The “restricted choice” principle to remember is “go with the choice that
comes from assuming Monty had to pick the door he did — in other words
that he had no choice and the treasure is behind the door he did not
choose”.
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